Suck, August: Six Caprices (Etudes) for Solo Cello (1863-1876)

Suck, August: Six Caprices (Etudes) for Solo Cello (1863-1876)
Suck: Six Caprices (Etudes) for Solo Cello (1863-1876)Suck: Six Caprices (Etudes) for Solo Cello (1863-1876)
Sales price $6.00
Purchase includes
Suck: 6 Caprices Complete Set

Notes and comments

Notes & Comments

Purchase includes solo cello part.

August Suck (ca. 1830-1921) pronounced “Sook”, came to the U.S. in the 1850s. With cellist Wulf Fries, he published a cello tutor in 1879, reissued in 1901. In 1881 he became a founding member of the Boston Symphony.  See Music by August Suck for a fuller biography of the composer/cellist.

The Six Caprices came from an archive of Suck manuscripts. The Six Caprices are actually etudes, and were written over a 13-year period of time, some in Sweden and some in the U.S. They are of intermediate to advanced difficulty, and work double stops, arpeggios, bow strokes, etc.


This is a downloadable arrangement. Buy it now and you can download the PDF directly to your computer. To receive printed folio copies (extra charge for postage), ask for them in the comments section of the order.